WJCAC Names All-Conference Basketball Team

WJCAC Names All-Conference Basketball Team

By Susan Fine


The Western Junior College Athletic Conference announced its All-Conference Basketball Teams for 2019.

NMJC’s Gideon George was named Men’s Freshman of the Year, and Eternati Willock was named Defensive Player of the Year.  As Co-Conference Champions in Women’s Basketball, Thunderbirds Coach Drew Sanders was named Co-Coach of the Year.

The Women’s team will also be heading to Lubbock, as an At-Large Team to compete in the National Basketball Tournament March 18-23. The TBirds tip off in the second round, as the 8th seed, playing Tuesday March 19th at 3:00pm mountain time, at Rip Griffin Center. 

The following is the complete list for WJCAC’s All Conference Basketball Team:


Co-Conference Champions                 New Mexico/South Plains College

Co-Coaches of the Year                     Drew Sanders New Mexico
                                                                 Cayla Petree    South Plains College

 Gabbie Green                                      South Plains College     MVP

Corbyn Cunningham                           Howard College

Grace Beasley                                       Midland College

Ogechi Nwodo                                      Midland College

Thamires Andrade                             New Mexico Jr. CollegeEternati Willock

Eternati Willock                                  New Mexico Jr. College

Sydnee Wynn                                       New Mexico Jr. College

Kamryn Lemon                                     Odessa College

Julan McDonald                                    Odessa College

Sarah Shematsi                                     South Plains College

Keyneso Hunter                                    South Plains College

Caroline Germond                                South Plains College

Individual Awards

Defensive Player of the Year
Eternati Willock                                  New Mexico Jr. College
Caroline Germond                               South Plains College

Newcomer of the Year
Kamryn Lemon                                   Odessa College

Freshman of the Year
Sarah Shematsi                                   South Plains College


Kea Mays                                            Clarendon College

Jordan Taylor                                      Frank Phillips College

Bethany Theodore                             Midland College

Lana Marov                                         Midland College

Laci Hawthorne                                  New Mexico Jr. College

Amanda Soderqvist                            Odessa College

Yanina Todorova                                Odessa College

Morgan Dial                                        Western Texas College



Conference Champion                     Odessa College

Coach of the Year                               Kris Baumann             Odessa CollegeGideon George

Gaige Prim                                          South Plains College   MVP

Ellis Jefferson                                      Clarendon College

Edwon Brady                                      Clarendon College

Garrick Green                                     Howard College

Matthew Johnson                               Howard College

Montre Gipson                                   Midland College

Gideon George                                   New Mexico Jr. College

James Reese                                        Odessa College

Dimon Carrigan                                  Odessa College

Jawaun Daniels                                   Odessa College

Trey Wade                                          South Plains College

Jonah Antonio                                     South Plains College


Defensive Player of the Year
Dimon Carrigan                                  Odessa College

Newcomer of the Year
Gaige Prim                                          South Plains College

Freshman of the Year
Gideon George                                    New Mexico Jr. College


LeAaron Cain                                     Clarendon College

Solomon Smith                                   Clarendon College

Marcus Brown                                    Frank Phillips College

James McNeil                                     Frank Phillips College

Marquise Kindel                                 Frank Phillips College

Jake Heese                                          Howard College

Darnell Rogers                                    New Mexico Jr. College

Dieon Rhea                                         New Mexico Jr. College

Jermane Carter                                                New Mexico Military Institute

Isaiah   Frances                                    New Mexico Military Institute

Jalen Hawkins                                     Odessa College

Jevon Brown                                       Western Texas College

Miles McDougal                                 Western Texas College