Media Releases

New Mexico Junior College Faculty of the Year Announced

New Mexico Junior College Faculty of the Year Announced photo 5/7/2010 4:38:31 p.m. - Hobbs, NM. Date: May 7, 2010

Contact: Dr. Regina Organ                                                     

New Mexico Junior College Faculty of the Year Announced

Dr. Stephen A. Townsend and Professor Joel Keranen were announced as Faculty of the year at the NMJC graduation ceremony held on Friday, May 7, 2010.

Joel Keranen has taught at NMJC since August 2001. In addition to teaching at NMJC, Joel spends his summers teaching the Navy College through Central Texas College as a PACE instructor. This summer, Joel will be aboard the frigate ship, the USS Underwood, teaching math to the US Navy sailors. Originally from Calumet Michigan, Joel holds two Master of Science degrees in math and physics. His hobbies include fitness exercising, reading, bicycling, and collecting monopoly games. When asked what he likes best about teaching, NMJC, and Hobbs, Joel replied “It’s a lot of fun teaching, NMJC is a nice place to work, and the snow melts quickly in Hobbs”.

Dr. Stephen Townsend has been with NMJC since August of 1999. He is finishing up 11 years of teaching history to NMJC students. Overall, Dr. Townsend has been teaching for 23 years. While at NMJC, Dr. Townsend has been a sponsor for Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for community colleges, a member of faculty senate, and a member of St. Helena’s church. In addition, Dr. Townsend has been named as a member of Who’s Who Among Faculty and a past member of Phi Alpha Theta honorary history society. Dr. Townsend completed his doctoral studies at UNT in Denton in 2001 and holds a Master of Science degree in American History.

The NMJC Faculty of the Year awards are sponsored by Elliott & Waldron Title and Hobbs Rotary Club (in memory of John Shepherd, a long-time chief instructional officer for NMJC). Outstanding Faculty of the Year have been recognized since the inception of the college.

These awards are especially meaningful to the outstanding Faculty of the Year recipients because they are nominated for and voted on by their peer professors.

All Stories

RSS logo

:Events Calendar:  :Focus on Faces:  :Photo Galleries:  :Video Gallery: