Media Releases

NMJC Students Inducted into PTK

NMJC Students Inducted into PTK photo 11/22/2008 11:00:17 p.m. - Hobbs, NM. On November 19, at New Mexico Junior College, 15 new members were inducted into the Psi Theta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society for two-year colleges.

At an evening ceremony in NMJC's Watson Hall theatre, sponsors Maria Vick, Director of Cosmetology, and Maria McCreesh, professor of Cosmetology, joined PTK officers Andrea Chance, Dana Havink, John McGraw, and Jessica McGraw to welcome the inductees.

PTK's mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.

In order to become a member of the PTK organization, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied toward an associate degree, maintain a grade point average of 3.5, receive an invitation for membership, and adhere to moral standards of the society.

Vick explained some of the rewards of PTK membership. "Because this is one of the most prestigious honor societies a two-year college has, Phi Theta Kappa members wind up with more honors, awards, and service opportunities than most other students. They also tend to receive more scholarship opportunities from four-year colleges. It's definitely an honor and a benefit to be a member."

Inductees were Helena Ann Albarran, Anthony J. Baeza, Cynthia A. Baeza, Brenna Lyn Bishop, Laura Guerrero Gabaldon, Kidra Leigh Hand-Moreno, Jennifer Therese Hanson, Tammy C. Lopez, Amarah Makena Lyles, Sabra K. Mapp, Emily Jane McCulloch, Claudia Pueblo, Lupe G. Ruiz, Anna Rose Taylor, and Ryan Glen Thompson.

All Stories

RSS logo

:Events Calendar:  :Focus on Faces:  :Photo Galleries:  :Video Gallery: