Media Releases

Athletic Awards Recipients for 2013-2014

Athletic Awards Recipients for 2013-2014 photo 5/22/2014 8:53:36 a.m. - Hobbs, NM.  


New Mexico Junior College’s student athletes were honored for their outstanding individual achievements in various fields at the 47th Annual Athletic Awards Banquet April 30, 2014, at Lea County Event Center.

Sponsored by the Thunderbird Booster Club, the event began with Phillip Roybal, Vice-President for Student Affairs, announcing those athletes who excelled in academics:  President’s List (4.0 GPA): Anna Burton, Clark Kahawaii, Kody Lamb, David Martin, Mark McCool, Purity Murray and Kenya Quinonez; Vice President of Instruction Honor Roll (3.5-3.99 GPA): Tyler Almager, Bryce Howe, Cody King, Sydnee Landrum, Grant Phifer, and Sharrona Williams; and Dean’s List (3.0-3.49 GPA): Bryana Hall, Linda Johnson, Alexis Perez, Pake Sorey, and Brett Worthen.

Coaches from each athletic program then gave awards to their outstanding athletes:

Golf – James Black
Most Improved Golfer – Marty Sanchez
Most Valuable Golfer – Jordan Ayre
Best Stroke Average – Marty Sanchez
Academic Award – Jacob Howard

Women’s Basketball – Drew Sanders and Kendra Coveal
Leading Scorer – Kassandra Harria
Leading Rebounder – Tanya Simpson
Leading Free Throw Percentage – T’Keya Mason
Leading Field Goal Percentage – Tanya Simpson
Leading Steals – Monique Mulder
Leader in Assists – Monique Mulder
All Conference Team and All Region, and Hon. Mention All America Team
                Tanya Simpson
                Cassandra Harris
All Conference Team Hon. Mention - Blair Richmond

Men’s & Women’s Rodeo – Marty Eakin and Richard Morris
Highest GPA (woman) – Anna Burton
Highest GPA (men) – Kody Lamb
Champion Work Ethic – Cody King, Wyatt Hayes and Pake Sorey
Qualified for College National Finals Rodeo :  Linden Woods (2nd place) and Kody Lamb (3rd place) in Bareback riding
High Points (women) – Dani Potter

Athletic Trainers – Nadia Leslie
Recognition Awards
Alandrea Harris
Monique Johnson
Thomas Jones
Bianca Knowles

Cross Country/Track – Keith Blackwill and Jeff Becker
Most Outstanding Indoor/Outdoor Freshman Athlete – Gleneve Grange
Most Outstanding Indoor/Outdoor Sophomore Athlete – Mariam Kromah
Most Improved Freshman Athlete – Micayla Collins
Most Improved Sophomore Athlete – Mariam Kromah
Most Outstanding Cross Country Athlete – Purity Murray 

Cheerleaders – Nelda Helms
Recognition Awards
    Bryana Hall
    Anisha Kotiar
    Sydnee Landrum
    Ashley Marquez
    Martha Mungaray
    Kenya Quinonez
    Dennise Trevino
    Marissa Triplett

Baseball – Josh Simpson and Jake McCarter
Jack Poyner Award (presented to the hardest working, most valuable baseball player):  Clark Kahawaii
Most Home Runs – Alexis Torres - 13
Outstanding Pitcher – Mark Simon
Outstanding Defensive Player – Dalton Bowers
Highest Batting Average – Preston Marsh
Most Valuable Player – Preston Marsh

Men’s Basketball – James Miller and Brian Lohrey
Team MVP – Jeff Newberry
Defensive Player – Kenrich Williams
Most Improved – Karim Diop
T-Bird Spirit Award – Nathan McAnally
Most Outstanding Freshman Athlete – Chris Boucher

Special Recognition – Don Worth and Dr. Steve McCleery
Drew Sanders – District Coach of the Year
Booster Club Fans of the Year:
          Dale Brooker
          Karen and Robert Rhodes
Gifts were given to Don Worth, Athletic Director, for his leadership and hard work as he retires from NMJC.

Dutch Klein Award – Don Worth and DeMond Thomas
Winner:  Kody Lamb

The Dutch Klein Thunderbird Award is the most prestigious award given to a student/athlete at New Mexico Junior College. The recipient not only exhibits athletic ability, but also the qualities of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

This award recognizes the student/athlete that best displays the qualities of leadership, citizenship, cooperation, scholarship and athletic achievement at New Mexico Junior College. This year’s award was given to Mr. Kody Lamb of the New Mexico Junior College Rodeo Team. The originator of this award was Mr. Edward Harry Klein, commonly known as “Dutch.” Mr. Klein was an active supporter of the athletic program at New Mexico Junior College.

For more information: Susan Fine, Director of Communications: or 575-492-2781

New Mexico Junior College is a comprehensive community college promoting success through learning.


Photo attached:  Winners of the 2013-2014 NMJC Athletics Awards

All Stories

RSS logo

:Events Calendar:  :Focus on Faces:  :Photo Galleries:  :Video Gallery: