Media Releases

21 Students Inducted Into National Honor Society

21 Students Inducted Into National Honor Society photo 4/4/2014 2:09:23 p.m. - Hobbs, NM.  


Twenty-one students at New Mexico Junior College were inducted into the Psi Theta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, Tuesday, April 2, 2014 at the college. 

The 21 distinguished students are:  Schylar Dutchover from Lovington; David Ellison from Lovington; Tasha Ford from Hobbs; Aubrey Grimes from Lovington; Joshua Gutierrez from Lovington; Juleanna Ossornio-Hernandez from Hobbs; Lane Hobbs from Hobbs; Stacey Jackson from Hobbs; Dakota Johnson from Hobbs; Judith Lopez from Hobbs; Travis Machacek from Caprock, NM; David Martin from Andrews, TX; Maria Mendoza from Tatum; Peter Pineda from Panama City, Panama; Sandy Ramirez from Tatum; Claire Rotunno from Lovington; Leslie Sanford from Hobbs; Ashley Scott from Hobbs; Celia Sherfick from Hobbs; Priscilla Tembe from Santa Fe; and Alexandra Venture from Hobbs.

In order to become a member of the PTK organization, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied toward an associate degree, maintain a grade point average of 3.5, receive an invitation for membership, and adhere to moral standards of the society.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international organization whose mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.

For more information, contact Maria Vick at 575.492.2850 or
NMJC is a comprehensive community college promoting success through learning.

Photo Attached:  (L-R) Teisha Ford, Judieth Lopez, Ashley Scott, Dakota Johnson, Lane Hobbs, David Ellison, Travis Machacek, Susan Carlile (President), and Chelby Hinds (Vice-President).

All Stories

RSS logo

:Events Calendar:  :Focus on Faces:  :Photo Galleries:  :Video Gallery: